Tuesday, April 12, 2011

MCC-Longview PTK receives national recognition

MCC-Longview's Phi Theta Kappa chapter once again was in the spotlight for its outstanding leadership and work on campus and throughout the community.

While at the PTK National Convention in Seattle, the campus honors society and its advisers were recognized and honored for their continued work. Not only was the hard work of the students highlighted in front of an audience of hundreds of fellow PTK members from around the country, but adviser Margret Berter and president Fred Grogan also were honored for their dedication to PTK here on campus.

Dr. Fred Grogan
Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction

The outstanding community college executive officers receiving this award have provided extensive support and a variety of resources for their colleges’ Phi Theta Kappa chapters, including faculty advisor release time, a line-item budget for the chapter, financial support for chapters to participate in regional and international events and scholarships for Phi Theta Kappa members.
Many of these presidents speak at their chapter inductions, serve as statewide Phi Theta Kappa presidential ambassadors and coordinate All-State Academic Team programs. The Shirley B. Gordon Awards are named for the President Emeritus of Highline Community College, now serving as chairman of the Phi Theta Kappa Board of Directors.

Margaret Berter
Continued Excellence Award for Advisors

Award-winning advisers are those who make significant contributions to the growth of the individual members, serve as the chapter's advocate on campus, and encourage the chapter to be involved on the local, regional and/or international level of the organization.

Cathy Baker, Mathew Baker, JR Byers, Robert Gaines, Kelly Lucas, Ellen Parsons, and Kristine Vainovksa
The Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Awards

The officers demonstrate an exceptional atmosphere of teamwork, leadership abilities, promotion of Honors in Action and other engagement in the Society, and enthusiasm for the Society’s Hallmarks.

Congratulations to all the award winners and their continued success.

No comments:

Post a Comment